When it was established in 1894, St. Jerome was only the second Catholic parish in Rogers Park. The current building, with its North Italian Renaissance exterior, was constructed in 1916. The parish quickly outgrew this building. Noted ecclesiastical architect Joseph W. McCarthy expanded the sanctuary in 1934—giving it the longest central aisle of any Catholic church in Chicago. The interior is configured like a Roman Basilica, meaning there is no transept crossing the length of the nave. Elaborate Baroque details—with an occasional Art Deco touch—combine with the vastness of the sanctuary to make it a stunning sacred space.