The former Illinois Athletic Club Building opened in 1908. In 1985, a $25-million renovation added six stories. The School of the Art Institute took over the building in 1993. The stunning ballroom, restored by the school's Historic Preservation Department to its 1930s appearance, originally served as a club dining room and has won numerous awards for architectural excellence. It boasts 26-foot ceilings, marbled columns and an original terrazzo dance floor. The ballroom's grand piano allegedly came from the former Playboy mansion.