McCormick Bridgehouse & Chicago River Museum
376 N. Michigan Ave.
NW corner of Michigan & Wacker, Riverwalk Level
Sat, Oct 19: 10am - 5pm
Sun, Oct 20: 10am - 5pm
Edward Bennett, 1920
This five-story, 1,400-square-foot bridgehouse was designed by Edward Bennett. It's part of the revolutionary 1920 double-decker Michigan Avenue (now DuSable) bridge. It was further embellished in 1928 with a bas-relief by Henry Hering titled “The Defenders”. The relief commemorates the 1812 Battle of Fort Dearborn. The bridgehouse itself is crowned by an urn and a pyramidal roof above an emphatic cornice. The McCormick Bridgehouse & Chicago River Museum is operated by Friends of the Chicago River and is dedicated to celebrating Chicago’s river and world-famous movable bridges.
Go inside the bridgehouse and view the massive gears of Chicago’s most famous movable bridge. Learn the history of the Chicago River and experience a unique view of the Magnificent Mile from the bridgehouse tower.
Part of the ComEd Sustainability Trail.