Luther Memorial Church
2500 W. Wilson Ave.
Sat, Oct 14: 10am - 5pm
Sun, Oct 15: 12pm - 5pm
E.E. and E.C. Roberts, 1926
Luther Memorial Church began in 1897 as Ravenswood English Lutheran Church, one of the first English-speaking congregations in the area. Renamed to commemorate the 400th anniversary of the Protestant Reformation, the cornerstone for a new building was laid in 1918. A larger building was required less than ten years later. Designed by the architectural firm of E.E. and E.C. Roberts, a father-son duo best known for their work in Oak Park, the Indiana limestone building is in an English Gothic style. The original building at this site, referred to as the parish house, was also remodeled at that time, and again in 1955. In 1966, hand-made contemporary stained-glass windows by Richard R. Caemmerer, Jr. were installed.
Luther Memorial Church is a thriving member of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (ELCA) and welcomes all people, regardless of race, culture, age, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, physical or mental health or socio-economic circumstances.
Visitors are invited to explore the Sanctuary both on the main floor and in the balcony. The Chapel, located on the second floor of the parish house, is also open to the public.
Members of the church will be present to answer questions, and refreshments will be provided.