5959 N. Sheridan Rd.
Enter from Thorndale at SW corner of building
Sat, Oct 19: 10am - 5pm
Sun, Oct 20: 10am - 4pm
Ross Barney + Jankowski, 2001; Blender Architecture, 2013
Emanuel Congregation, celebrating its 140th year as a Reform synagogue, is located on the Edgewater lakefront. The current Modernist stone building dates to 1954, and has been adapted and renovated over time with the goal of creating a welcoming environment. The sanctuary, which houses an ark designed by artist Edgar Miller, received an award-winning remodel by Ross Barney + Jankowski in 2001, which added movable translucent wall panels and sails hung from the ceiling. A round chapel, originally built as a fortress against an impending northward extension of Lake Shore Drive that never happened, was opened up to stunning lake views in a 2013 renovation.
Take a self-guided tour of this lakeside syngagogue's prayer spaces--the sanctuary and the chapel--as well as a brand new outdoor Sukkah, a temporary hut constructed for the festival of Sukkot. Wheelchair accessible entrance on Sheridan.