Skip to main content

DePaul University Cortelyou Commons

Address

2324 N. Fremont St.

Neighborhood

Lincoln Park

Hours

Sat, Oct 19: 10am - 3pm

Sun, Oct 20: 10am - 5pm

Photography Permitted Washrooms Available Wheelchair Accessible

Architect

Dwight Wallace, 1929

Website

depaul.edu

Description

Cortelyou Commons was completed in the Collegiate Gothic style in 1929, one of several structures of the former McCormick Theological Seminary. DePaul University acquired the building, along with others on the former Seminary campus, in 1976 and renamed it for the eighth president of DePaul University, Father John Cortelyou. The structure now serves as a dramatic space for campus events. It boasts an expansive interior with ornate windows and elaborate wooden ceiling.

Visitor Experience

Visit this classic example of Collegiate Gothic architecture, whose awe-inspiring interior is now used for DePaul University events.