Church of the Atonement Episcopal
5749 N. Kenmore Ave.
Sat, Oct 14: 1pm - 5pm
Sun, Oct 15: 1pm - 5pm
Henry Ives Cobb, 1890
J.E.O. Pridmore, 1919
The Episcopal Church of the Atonement was founded in 1888 and began worship in this distinctive red stone building in 1890. Though the building has been expanded twice—to more than double its original capacity—it has always maintained the English Gothic style from its first architect, Henry Ives Cobb. The sanctuary, both grand and intimate, contains a booming pipe organ. Below the floor lies a columbarium where the remains of parishioners rest. The Parish House was added in 1924, and the sanctuary's stained-glass windows were gradually installed from 1929 to 1946.
Materials for self-guided tours will be available, showcasing the artistic and architectural features of the sanctuary. Historical documents and photos will also be on display, and organists will perform musical pieces during open hours.