Christ the Savior Orthodox Church
927 N. LaSalle Blvd.
Near North Side
J.E.O. Pridmore, 1901
Christ the Savior Orthodox Church occupies the former Apostolic Catholic Church, an offshoot of the Anglican (Episcopal) church that has largely vanished. It was acquired by the Orthodox Church in America in 1996, and hosted its first Orthodox service in 1997—but much restoration and renovation was ahead. Archpriest John Baker came to the parish in 2004, bringing new energy and crucial skills in carpentry. Some details from the previous Apostolic Catholic church, such as carved wooden shields capping the heavy timber beams that support the roof, remain, but much else has been modified. The community has grown and invested in beautification projects, most notably the installation of a new iconostasis, completed just in time for Pascha of 2007. The iconostasis itself was built by Saskatchewan carpenter, Ben McNee with iconography done by master iconographer Archpriest Theodore Jurewic, who also painted the vibrant frescoes of the church. The iconostasis represents years of labor and generosity—and symbolically, it represents the movement from fledgling mission to the full-fledged, thriving parish of today.