Shrine of Christ the King Sovereign Priest (St. Gelasius, St. Clara)
6401 S. Woodlawn Ave.
Sat, Oct 15: 9am - 5pm
Sun, Oct 16: 9am - 5pm
Henry J. Schlacks, 1927
The former St. Gelasius (later St. Clara) Church was the final work of ecclesiastical architect Henry J. Schlacks. It was rescued from demolition in 2003 after a devastating fire, but in 2015 another fire nearly destroyed the building. The Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest is once again embarking on an ambitious restoration campaign, beginning with the construction of a new roof to shelter the interior from the elements. In the meantime, the Shrine’s vibrant religious community is meeting in temporary space next door at First Presbyterian Church to celebrate traditional Latin liturgy.