Shrine of Christ the King
6415 S. Woodlawn Ave.
Sat, Oct 19: 10am - 5pm
Sun, Oct 20: 10am - 5pm
Photography Permitted Refreshments Available Wheelchair Accessible
Henry J. Schlacks, 1927
The former St. Clara (later renamed St. Gelasius in 1990) Church was the final work of ecclesiastical architect Henry J. Schlacks. Completed in 1927, the historic building survived a fire in 1976, avoided demolition in 2003, and endured another devastating fire in 2015. Now owned and operated as a sacred Shrine by the Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest, which is undertaking an ambitious restoration, the building is once again covered by a roof, and historic windows have just been restored.
Take a guided tour of this historic landmark church and receive a unique look at the ongoing post-fire restoration and interior construction, including an up-close view of the newly-refurbished historic windows.