This parish traces its roots back to 1889. Plans to build the current St. Edward Church began around 1926. Construction of the lower level was completed, but the work was halted because of the Depression. Worship took place in the lower church at basement level. The upper church was completed in 1940. It features a unique timber truss ceiling, and the exterior is mostly clad in Chicago common brick, a marker of the frugality with which it was built. One of the highlights is a hand-painted replica of the Bayeux Tapestry, which tells the story of Edward the Confessor, King of England.