Pilgrim Congregational Church
460 Lake St.
Visitors should enter off Scoville St. near the corner of Scoville and Lake. Parking is available Saturday before 2:00 p.m. in the parking structure on Scoville. During all other times, visitors can use the church parking lot on Lake St.
Sat, Oct 15: 12pm - 4pm
Sun, Oct 16: 1pm - 4pm
Patton & Fisher, 1889
With roots going back to 1874, this picturesque Queen Anne-style church is the oldest continuously-used house of worship in Oak Park. The original chapel was completed in 1889 and included vibrant stained glass windows. In 1900, growing membership prompted the construction of an unusual, nearly square sanctuary seating 700 people. Those original plans were later modified to add a large Sunday School room that allowed any person on the main floor to observe the smaller classrooms in the balcony. That room can be opened up to add 400 seats to the 700-seat sanctuary via an enormous door that rises into the ceiling using a cranking system. Today, the site is home to Pilgrim Congregational Church, UCC, a progressive Christian community.
Visitors are invited to explore the sanctuary, chapel, parlor and entrance hall, where architectural details and other activities of significance will be noted on signage. Every hour on the hour and half hour docents will show how the wall between the parlor and sanctuary can be lifted, provide additional information of architectural interest and share how Pilgrim is integral to the community of Oak Park. In the chapel there will be an ongoing video running highlighting some of the diverse musical elements featured in the building. Seating for this activity will be provided.