Pilgrim Congregational Church UCC
460 Lake St.
Sat, Oct 13: 10am - 4pm
Sun, Oct 14: 1pm - 5pm
Patton & Fisher, 1889
With roots going back to 1874, this picturesque Queen Anne-style church is the oldest continuously-used house of worship in Oak Park. The smaller original chapel was completed first in 1889, but growing membership prompted the completion of an unusual, nearly square sanctuary in 1900. The original plans were modified to add a large Sunday school room. That room can be opened up to add 400 seats to the 700-seat sanctuary via an enormous door that rises into the ceiling.
Behind the Scenes
Visit the oldest continuously-used house of worship in Oak Park, with its unusual square sanctuary that can be expanded by raising a large door into the ceiling.